Posted by: Brad | November 30, 2008

Safari vs Chrome


I’m aware that I’m writing about more and more technology topics, but I just can’t help myself on this one. According to Apple, their web browser Safari is ‘The world’s best browser’ as well as the fastest. Now, if you look at the chart on its website, you’ll notice that Chrome isn’t listed in the speed tests. Why ever not? (Oh man, I’m sounding like a Google fanboy)

My computer is definitely no beast, but on my hardware and OS (Intel Pentium 4 2.66GHz, 1.25GB DDR RAM, nVIDIA GeForce 7600GT with 256MB VRAM, Windows Vista Home Premium), waiting for Safari to load is like watching paint dry, whereas Chrome is like spraying an entire neighbourhood with an explosive paint cannon.

And where are they getting their ‘World’s best browser’ tagline? Just searching Google for ‘safari is crap’ delivers truckloads of reports on the browser’s slowness, crashiness, clunkiness, and overall crapiness. Apparently it ‘gets out of your way’ too. Yeah, with its HIDEOUS GREY WINDOW FRAME!!!

I’m just saying I would rather surf the web with a surfboard than Safari, and I can’t surf 😛

Responses

  1. Apple has to do something with its Safari as the Chrome seems to be very much enhanced.

    http://www.safaribrowserwindows.com

  2. You’re right there. If Chrome’s success continues, the other browsers should watch out.


Leave a Reply

Categories

